Source – forbes.com/
By – Kashmir Hill
Category – SEO Strategy For Hotels
Twitter has redefined the word “blocked.” Traditionally, to “block someone” on social media is to cut all digital ties. You no longer see their activity and they no longer see yours. However, that’s always been tricky on Twitter because so much of what is published there is public. Even if you were blocked by a fellow user, you could still see their tweets if their account wasn’t a private one. Twitter has decided to cease the farce of “the block” for public accounts.
From now on, a blocked user can still follow, retweet, and favorite a public user who blocked them, and won’t be informed, as they have in the past, that they’ve been blocked. The blocker though won’t see the RTing, faving, or any mentions by that person show up in their notification stream, and won’t see them in their follower list.
Blocking someone on Twitter now actually means you’re just muting them. It’s the digital equivalent of plugging your ears; they can shout but you won’t hear them. Sorry, Mediabistro, but you’re going to have to come up with a new digital “junkpunch.”
Twitter has updated its help page with the new rules for blocking and rolled out the change. A few Twitter users have already noticed it.
“I wasn’t able to follow/RT people who blocked me as recently as a couple weeks ago. Now I can, they just won’t know,” tweeted Brian Stuart. “Block on twitter is basically now just used on yourself. You block your own access, not the person harassing you.”
It’s the “what you don’t know won’t hurt you” approach to combating harassment. Twitter spokesperson Jim Prosser says Twitter made the change because it thinks it will cut down on the vitriol, anger, and resentful Jezebel articles that result from knowing you’ve been blocked. “Now when you block a user, they cannot tell that you’ve blocked them,” tweeted Twitter CEO Dick Costolo. “It was a longstanding request from users of block.”
“We saw antagonistic behavior where people would see they were blocked and be mad,” says Prosser. He also says “block” doesn’t really make sense when the content is still visible. “Twitter is public, we want to reinforce that content published in a public profile is viewable by the world.”
Blocking will still work in the traditional way for private accounts. Someone who is blocked will lose their ability to follow that person, but again they won’t be informed.
Source – forbes.com/sites/kashmirhill/2013/12/12/blocking-people-on-twitter-now-just-mutes-them/